My Go To Breakfast Choices

Standard

I have finally conquered breakfast. After trying many things last year, I keep certain choices that make my stomach happy:

1. Fruit and Yogurt Parfait

I love to combine Plain Greek Yogurt, fruit and flax granola. I buy a tub of Greek Yogurt from Trader Joe’s, it can last 5 days with leftovers, as I only use 1/2 a cup. Then I buy some berries (strawberries, blueberries and/or blackberries), prep them and store them in a container in the fridge. I freakin’ love Whole Foods Flax Granola varieties. I simply get some from the bulk foods section and put it in one of my Mason Jars in the pantry. I add a 1/3 cup of Granola and a 1/3 cup of berries to my Yogurt. I finish it off by adding a sprinkle of Cinnamon and Tupelo Honey for a flavorful sweet touch.

Nutrition: Protein, serving of fruit, oil, gluten free and more
Calories: 238

2. Cereal in Almond Milk

Lately (meaning like the whole month of March) I have turned back to a favorite of mine. Remember last year I discovered Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin Cereal and I fell in love. Well, I have discovered that all of the Ezekiel cereal varieties are pretty darn great. I use Almond Milk because I really just do not like the taste of Cows MIlk, and then I add a banana for sweetness and more flavor. I just follow the serving size recommended by using a 1/2 c of cereal and 1 cup milk. I do not add any sweeteners because the almond milk and fruit are sweet enough together.

Nutrition: So much nutritiousness here! Protein, oils, fruit, grains, gluten free, etc.
Calories: 355

3. Eggs w/toast and bacon

Another quick and easy favorite is two eggs and toast with two strips of bacon. Sometimes I put the eggs on the toast, other times I put peanut butter on the toast and eat the eggs separately. I really do not add anything here. Its a simple and quick breakfast. Nutritious, tasty and filling.

Nutrition: Protein, brains, oils, etc
Calories: 295

4. Cream of Brown Rice Farina w/fruit and seeds

The last, but certainly not least ideal choice for breakfast is Cream of Wheat/Farina. I use almond milk to cook the cream of wheat and once done I add 1/3 cup of fruit and chia seeds. This little bowl only contains 3 tblsp of COW, 3/4 cup of milk, and 1 tblsp of seeds.

Nutrition: Wheat, Protein, Fruit
Calories: 236

I occasionally have the full southern breakfast as a treat (grits, eggs, bacon, pancakes/waffles), maybe once a month or more. Regardless, these breakfasts are fillings, low in calories, tasty, customizable and very satisfying. I usually drink a cup of lemon water alongside breakfast. All of these meals also make great post workout meals. I prefer to exercise in the morning on an empty stomach and these meals are a great way to start my day of healthy eating.

Leave a Reply

