Two Chicken Curry Recipe’s For Review

Standard

I tried another Eat East Indian recipe. This time the recipe called for chicken drumsticks, which I rarely use, so I decided to give it a go. For this recipe, the preparation was quick and easy, I like to put the spice portions on a plate before cooking as this ensures speediness when cooking. The only thing that frustrated me about this recipe, is well,, the lack of a recipe! Well, I winged it, using mostly a tsp for each spice, 1/2 for the hot one’s, and 1 tbsp of salt (which was too much).

I enjoyed the taste of the curry, but I will not make this again as I feel it would have been better had there been more guidance in the spice mixture department. Plus, the cooking times she suggests are off, if I wasn’t a half way decent cook, I would have burned the spices long before getting the tomatoes in the pot. She says to wait five minutes after adding the potatoes, but I did as she did instead of as she said because I know everything would have burned.

Like I wrote, it came out tasty, but it was a little salty as I put in too much salt. I ate my chicken and potatoes on a bed of brown basmati rice.

 

This second recipe came out much better as the ingredients are listed. I let the chicken marinate for about two hours while I prepped, and put some things away around the house. This recipe was quite easy and quick to make, which is a major plus. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs as I prefer that to any other type of boneless chicken. This was a spicy dish, and really pleased my palette. It was nice to use cloves in a recipe as I rarely use them outside of making cookies during the christmas season. I also enjoyed the fact that a green bell pepper is a part of the recipe, which means I am getting a vegetable serving without the need for a side dish.

This recipe is spot on, quick and one that I will make again. Once again, I ate my chicken curry on a bed of brown basmati rice.

Leave a Reply

