Pasta

Standard

I hadn’t eaten pasta in a good long time before last week. I mean at least 4 months, maybe more because we all know that regular pasta is not unhealthy, but it is not the greatest for those trying to loose weight. I tried whole grain pasta, and although it was fine, it tasted grainy. I am not looking for a grainy taste from my pasta, nope, nada, never. Then the solution came to me in a youtube blog, Brown Rice Pasta!!!

Yes, I tried Brown Rice pasta last week and it was fantabulous! Tastes just like the flour version and it soaks up sauce flavors just as easily. On the down side, it takes longer to cook, but I can surely live with that. I made a cold chicken and pasta salad, it had tons of veggies and was delicious. As a result, I now have another healthy food option.

pasta

This is the one I used for the cold chicken pasta salad.

I plan to buy a different brand after work today and make an asparagus, pasta, and bean dish (maybe fava, snap peas, or italian green beans?) tomorrow. I haven’t decided, I’ll post a pic on Instagram. If it comes out good, I’ll post the recipe here. I am always excited to find an alternative to something I enjoy because it proves that you do not have to give up your favorite foods to be healthy, you just have to find good alternatives.

Leave a Reply

