Roasted Squash Soup

Standard

I am a soup girl through and through, I like soup all times of year with no exceptions. The wonderful thing about this recipe is you can use whatever squash is available. I used acorn and butternut squash, and it came out so very delicious.

I combined the ingredients from this video:

With the portions from this recipe from Food Network:

Savory Squash Soup

I do not like nutmeg in my soups because it tends to overpower the flavor of the squash, and I added honey as per the video. Once done, it was the best Squash soup I have ever tasted!! Seriously delicious and low on the calories because it is a vegetable soup. The biggest calorie guzzler is the cream, but as I said, its a vegetable soup, so you can afford to have that fat. If you are looking for a great soup recipe, give this a go.

4 thoughts on “Roasted Squash Soup

  1. I wing it from a Food Network recipe. Cut and roast the sweet potatoes, seasoning with olive oil and salt and pepper. Saute onion, garlic, carrot and celery with olive oil in a pot. Add chicken stock (home-made, of course, is best, if you have it). Add the sweet potatoes. Simmer for a while. Transfer to blender. Pour back into pot. Add a dash of light cream or half-and-half. Maybe a dash of cinnamon or brown sugar or both. As you can see, I don’t measure exactly when I cook, although I do when I bake.

Leave a Reply

