My Green Smoothie Formulas

Standard

After months of drinking Green Smoothies, with lost of experimentation, I have created two fail-safte recipes in which you can insert your favorite combos:

Recipe 1

2.5 Cups of Greens

1/2 Cup Juice

1/2 Banana, Pear  or Apple

1/2 Cup Fruit 1

1 Cup Fruit 2

Recipe 2

2.5 Cups of Greens

1 Banana, Pear, or Apple

1/2 Cup Fruit 1

1 Cup Fruit 2

*My only exception to this rule is when using kiwi, no need for the banana, pear, or apple.

As far as greens go, you can’t really go wrong. Feel free to separate the two and a half cups any way you please, maybe half cup of cilantro with two cups spinach, etc. The only green I am careful of is Romaine Lettuce, it has an earthy taste no matter what, so I am sure to use lemon juice when using it. Otherwise, the green you use simply affects texture, not taste. If you use a fruit that is not quite ripe, squirt a little Agave Nectar in there. I often add Milled Flaxseed, Chia Seeds, Cacao Powder, or any nutritious additive I please. Be sure to use organic greens and fruits to ensure you get their actual nutritional value, check out your local farmers market(s)and farms for the best deals and the ripest fruits and veggies.

My favorite fruit combos are:

Kiwi + Strawberry

Pineapple + Mango

Pear + Peach

Peach + Banana

Green Apple + Peach

Grapes + ANYTHING

Papaya + Pineapple

My favorite veggies to use are:

Kale

Spinach

Cucumber

Celery

Collard Greens

Carrots

May favorite juice bases are (make sure you use Pure Juice, I use Lakewood):

Orange (Sometimes Florida’s Natural)

Apple

Pomegranate

Goji Berry

Papaya

I’ve been drinking at least one green smoothie a day for 3 months now, and I could not be happier with that choice. They are addictive, tasty, very nutritious, a great post workout meal, a great meal replacement, etc. I could go on and on. Note: If you add a dark fruit, you will end up with a brown smoothie, which probably looks even less appetizing than a green smoothie :-). Now I just need to save enough money to buy a high powered blender (dreaming!) In the mean time, my Ninja Master Prep Pro is doing the job.

If you have any recipes you love, please share in the comments below. If you try one of my combos, tell me if you love it, hate it, or are ambivalent. I hope this encourages someone to give green smoothies a go!

2 thoughts on “My Green Smoothie Formulas

  1. I have a slightly similar method, except mine is 50/50 veg (2 cup veg, 1 banana and 1 cup fruit), 1/2 cup juice, 1/2 cup water, chia seeds, coconut oil + spirulina and if not sweet enough, 1/3 cup of fruit pulp.

Leave a Reply

