What’s In the Mason Jars?

Standard

My Grains, Beans & Seeds

 

From left to right: Flaxseed Mill, Chia Seeds, French Couscous, Israeli Couscous, Tri-Color Quinoa, Rolled Oats, Red Lentils, Garbanzo Beans, and the last two are popcorn. I plan to buy a large airtight container for the popcorn, I have so much that my quart Mason Jar’s are just too small. I do go through a whole lot of popcorn as it is one of my favorite snacks, so I must accommodate its quantity in my life by getting a large/long jar. Putting everything in Mason Jars is one way to get these foods out of the bulk bags and into preservative storage. I also make sure to use something from a Mason Jar with each meal, for example today:

Meal 1: Cream of Wheat + 1 tbsp Chia Seeds

Meal 2: Turkey Sandwich + Vegetable Stew (includes garbanzo beans)

Meal 3: Green Smoothie with 2 tbsp Flaxseed Mill

Meal 4 (in the oven right now): Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast, 1/2 cup Israeli Couscous, Asparagus & a Sweet Potato

Before I put everything in the Jars, it was an out of sight out of mind situation, now that everything is in the jars, I simply take a peep at them and make a choice of what to use. I bought a box of 12 Jars from Walmart and I do plan to use them all eventually as part of challenging myself to eat healthier. I will be emptying the popcorn jars, so I will have 4 empty jars. So far I plan to put kidney beans in one of them and my own cream of wheat mixture in another, other than that I do not know what to put in the last two jars. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

