April Challenges: Healthy Changes

Standard

For the month of April I have decided to do a 30 Day Green Smoothie Challenge, hosted by the Simple Green Smoothies website.  I am going to drink two green smoothies a day and stay away from processed foods.

 

You can check out the website by clicking the photo above, I would be happy to have people join me for the month.  I also plan to challenge myself to eating Quinoa instead of brown rice next month. I will do a separate post about the benefits of Quinoa, and share recipes along the way.  I ate Quinoa with my meal last night, and I do not think that commitment will be a problem. In preparation for next month, I went to my local health food store and stocked up on Quinoa (just half a lb), and some fresh fruit (farmer’s market/grocery store sale items).  My goal for the next week is to take advantage of sales and strawberry season by buying fresh fruit and freezing it. If you have never done so before, its quite easy and much more tasty than the fruit you buy previously frozen.  So far, I have frozen banana, mango, pineapple, and strawberry.

Frozen pineapple, strawberries, mango

Frozen pineapple, strawberries, mango

The simplegreensmoothie.com people will send a grocery list before the challenge begins, so I will buy more fruit and my greens then. I am excited to see what this challenge does for my body. Once I decide on my fitness challenge for next month I will report in.

Leave a Reply

