Weekly Exercise

Standard

Image

When I first began Shred, and in the past, I have simply gone to the gym several times a week, or ran several times a week. Well, that is obviously not something that I keep up.  The Shred Diet gave me several ideas, including playing a sport.  Around about week 3 of Shred, I began to get bored with exercise and started to change things up.  So, far I have done: 

  • Bikram Yoga
  • Running
  • Strength Training
  • Jumping Rope
  • Zumba
  • TennisImage
  • Biking

I will go more into each individual thing as the weeks go by, but I have found that this is the way to go. In order to stay interested in exercise I have to cross train, meaning I have to do different forms of exercise throughout each week. Instead of spending the whole week in the gym and going for a run, I am choosing something different to do each day.  Yesterday I went to the gym and did 55 minutes of cardio, 15 minutes on the stationary bike, 20 minutes on the Arc Trainer, and 20 minutes on the treadmill (10 walking incline, 10 minutes HIIT).  Today, I will go for a run, I will run for at least 30 minutes. Tomorrow, who knows.  The point is to be active at least 5 days a week, for at least one hour.  With the exception of tennis, I also try to make sure I exercise in the morning before I can talk myself out of it. So far, this method is working, and I do not find myself resisting exercise. Lastly, I plan to try some at home Youtube workouts as well as Bellydancing in the future. Hopefully, with all of these choices, I will not have any reason to find an excuse to not be active.

Leave a Reply

